• To increase the profile of the research campus
  • To provide advice

Composition of the Board

  • Important representatives of business, academic research, politics and the like
  • Chairman of the Board: Dean of the Mannheim Medical Faculty at the Heidelberg University
  • Invited by the Steering Committee

Prof. Dr. Sergij Goerdt
Dean of Medical Faculty Mannheim of the Heidelberg University
(ex officio)

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Eitel
Rector of the Heidelberg University

Prof. Dr. Astrid Hedtke-Becker
Rector of the Hochschule Mannheim University of Applied Sciences

Prof. Dr. Ursula Kummer
Interdisciplinary Center for Scientific Computing (IWR), Heidelberg University & Centre for Organismal Studies Heidelberg

Dr. Peter Kurz
Mayor of the City of Mannheim

Dr. André Schmandke
Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts, Baden-Württemberg

Prof. Dr. Thomas Puhl
Rector of the University of Mannheim

Elisabeth Staudinger
Member of the Managing Board at Siemens Healthineers AG

Steering Committee


  • responsible for strategic orientation
  • approves new projects and partners
  • actively promotes the Research Campus in the public domain
  • secures project-related financing contributions

Composition of the Steering Committee

  • two Vice-Presidents
  • two representatives from industry
  • one representative from the University of Mannheim
  • two expert representatives from academia
  • one representative from Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Vice-President Innovation and Transfer of Heidelberg University:
Prof. Dr. Matthias Weidemüller
(ex officio)

Vice President Research & International Affairs at the Mannheim University of Applied Sciences:
Prof. Dr. Mathias Hafner

Industry representative:
Andreas Schneck
Siemens Healthcare GmbH

Industry representative:
Prof. Dr. Hans-Jürgen Hennes
Universitätsklinikum Mannheim GmbH

Expert representative (academia):
Prof. Dr. Stefan Schönberg
Clinic for Radiology and Nuclear Medicine at the University Medical Center Mannheim

Expert representative (academia):
Prof. Dr. Frank Giordano
Department of Radiation Oncology at the University Medical Center Mannheim

Representative of University of Mannheim:
Prof. Dr. Armin Heinzl
Chair of General Management and Information Systems

Representative of Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Bauernhansl
Fraunhofer IPA

Scientific Advisory Board


  • Exchange with colleagues from the steering committee
  • Recommendations concerning the adaptation of the M²OLIE research strategy

Composition of the Scientific Advisory Board

  • International experts on important core topics within M²OLIE
    • Professor Dr. Dieter R. Enzmann
      Chair of the Department of Radiology at UCLA, Los Angeles
    • Professor Dr. Paolo Fiorini
      Director of the Department of Computer Science, University of Verona
    • Professor Dr. med. Matthias Guckenberger
      Chair of the Department for Radiation Oncology, University Hospital Zurich
    • Professor Dr. Ron Kikinis
      Institute Director of Fraunhofer MEVIS, Bremen; founding Director of the Surgical Planning Laboratory, Department of Radiology, Brigham; Women’s Hospital, Harvard
    • Professor Dr. Jaques Marescaux
      President and Founder of the IRCAD, Strasbourg

Project Committee


  • proposes new projects and partners
  • coordinates projects
  • tracks project progress
  • advertises the overall project to the wider public via a spokesperson

Composition of the Project Committee

  • Two representatives per project team: one representative from academia and one representative from industry
  • The spokesperson and the deputy spokesperson are selected from among its members (one university representative and one industry representative)
  • Representatives from the City of Mannheim (advisory)
  • Director and Deputy Director of the office (advisory)

Spokesperson of the M²OLIE Research Campus and academic representative of the M²INT project:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jan Stallkamp
MIISM, Medical Faculty Mannheim of Heidelberg University

Industry representative of the M²INT project:
Dr. Anke Siebert
Siemens Healthcare GmbH

Academical representative of the M²IBID project:
Barbara Wichtmann, M. Sc.
University Hospital Bonn

Industry representative of the M²IBID project:
Dr. Sebastian Schäfer
Mint Medical GmbH

Academical representative of the M²DATA project:
Luis Oberste, M. Sc.
University of Mannheim

Industry representative of the M²DATA project:
Dr. Hannah Schlott
Universitätsklinikum Mannheim GmbH

Representative of the City of Mannheim:
Katharina Fox
Mannheim Medical Technology Cluster

Project Group


  • proposes new projects and partners
  • sets and tracks project aims and results
  • coordinates projects internally

Composition of the Project Group

  • One representative per partner
  • Up to two representatives are appointed in the Project Committee (one representative from university and industry respectively)

M²OLIE Administration Office


  • assists in project planning and control
  • support applications
  • provides support in terms of reporting obligations
  • communicates with project sponsors
  • organizes events

Composition of the Office

  • Head of the Administration Office (academic head)
  • Deputy Head of the Administration Office (responsible for industry contacts)
  • Project managers

Head of the M²OLIE Administration Office
Prof. Dr. Patrick Maier (Head of Academics)

Deputy Head of Administration
Dr. Ralph Strecker (responsible for industry contacts)

Project Manager
Dr. Simone Eichner

Project Manager
Marketing & Communications
Laura Winter, M. A.