• To increase the profile of the research campus
  • To provide advice

Composition of the Board

  • Important representatives of business, academic research, politics and the like
  • Chairman of the Board Dean of the Mannheim Medical Faculty at the university of Heidelberg
  • Invited by the Steering Committee
Board (left to right): Prof. Dr. Sergij Goerdt, Prof. Dr. Bernhard Eitel (President of Heidelberg University), Dr. Peter Kurz (Mayor of the City of Mannheim), Prof. Dr. Mathias Hafner (Kommissarische Vertretung der Hochschule Mannheim), Dr. Caroline Liepert (Baden-Wuerttemberg’s Ministry of Science, Research and Art), Prof. Dr. Katja Mombauer (Interdisciplinary Center for Scientific Computing (IWR) of Heidelberg University), Dr. Bernd Montag (Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Siemens Healthcare GmbH), Professor Dr. Thomas Puhl (Rektor der Universität Mannheim)

Steering Committee


  • To be responsible for strategic orientation
  • To approve new projects and partners
  • To actively promote the research campus in the public domain
  • To secure project-related financing contributions

Composition of the Steering Committee

  • two Vice-Presidents
  • two representatives from industry
  • one representative from the university of Mannheim
  • two expert representatives from academia
  • one representative of Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Vice-President Research and Structure of Heidelberg University:
Prof. Dr. Stephen Hashmi
(Vorsitz qua Amt)

Vice President Research & International Affairs der Hochschule Mannheim:
Prof. Dr. Mathias Hafner

Industry representative:
Dr. Heinrich Kolem
Siemens Healthcare GmbH

Industry representative:
Prof. Dr. Hans-Jürgen Hennes
Universitätsklinikum Mannheim GmbH

Prof. Dr. Stefan Schönberg
Institute of Radiology and Nuclear Medicine

PD Dr. Frank Giordano
Department of Radiation Oncology

Representative of Mannheim university:
Prof. Dr. Armin Heinzl
Chair for ABWL and Commercial Informatics

Representative der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft:
Dr. Raoul Klingner

Scientific Advisory Board


  • Exchange with colleagues from the steering committee
  • Recommendations concerning the adaptation of the M²OLIE research strategy

Zusammensetzung des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats

  • International experts on important core topics within M²OLIE
    • Professor Dr. Dieter R. Enzmann
      Chair of the Department of Radiology at UCLA, Los Angeles
    • Professor Dr. Paolo Fiorini
      Director of the Department of Computer Science, University of Verona
    • Professor Dr. med. Matthias Guckenberger
      Chair of the Department for Radiation Oncology, University Hospital Zurich
    • Professor Dr. Ron Kikinis
      Institute Director of Fraunhofer MEVIS, Bremen; founding Director of the Surgical Planning Laboratory, Department of Radiology, Brigham; Women’s Hospital, Harvard
    • Professor Dr. Jaques Marescaux
      President and Founder of the IRCAD, Strasbourg

Project Committee


  • To propose new projects and partners
  • To coordinate projects
  • To track project progress
  • To advertise the overall project to the wider public via a spokesperson

Composition of the Project Committee

  • Two representatives per project team: one representative from academia and one representative from industry
  • The Spokesperson and the Deputy Spokesperson are selected from among its members (one university representative and one industry representative)
  • Representatives from the City of Mannheim (advisory)
  • Director and Deputy Director of the office (advisory)

Spokesperson of the research campus and academic representative of the M²INT project:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jan Stallkamp
Fraunhofer IPA

Industrial representative of the M²INT project:
Dr. Anke Siebert
Siemens Healthcare GmbH

Academical representative of the M²oBiTE project:
Prof. Dr. Björn Wängler
Heidelberg University

Academical representative of the M²oBiTE project:
Prof. Dr. Carsten Hopf
Mannheim university

Academical representative of the M²IBID project:
Prof. Dr. Lothar Schad
Heidelberg University

Industrial representative of the M²IBID project:
Dr. Heidrun Endt
Siemens Healthcare GmbH

Academical representative of the ProM²OLIE project:
Dr. Kai Spohrer
Mannheim university

Industrial representative of the ProM²OLIE project:
Zoé I. Morgenstern
Universitätsklinikum Mannheim GmbH

Academical representative of the M²PROCIT project:
Dipl.-Inf. Sebastian Schöning
Fraunhofer IPA

Industrial representative of the M²PROCIT project:
Stefan Baur
QIT Systeme

Representative of the city of Mannheim:
Dr. Elmar Bourdon
Cluster Medizintechnologie

Project group


  • To propose new projects and partners
  • To set and track project aims and results
  • To coordinate projects internally

Composition of the project group

  • One representative per partner
  • Up to two representatives are appointed in the Project Committee (one representative from university and industry respectively)

M²OLIE Cluster Management


  • To assist in project planning and control
  • To support the application
  • To provide support in terms of reporting obligations
  • To communicate with project sponsors
  • To organise events

Composition of the Office

  • Director of the Office (academic head)
  • Deputy Director of the Office (responsible for industry contacts)
  • Other employees

Head of Administration
Prof. Dr. Patrick Maier (Head of Academics)

Deputy Head of Administration
Dr. Klaus Klingenbeck (responsible for industry contacts)

Member of administration staff
Dr. Sabine Neudecker

Member of administration staff
Laura Winter