M²OLIE Forschungscampus

The "Mannheim Molecular Intervention Environment (M²OLIE)" Forschungscampus is one of nine currently funded research projects, which as part of the "Forschungscampus - Public-Private Partnership for Innovation" competition received an award from the Ministry of Education and Research on 25 September, 2012.

Through close interdisciplinary cooperation with doctors, scientists, engineers, economists and IT scientists from five academic ( universities and non-university research institutions ) and thirteen industrial partners ( large companies and small and medium-sized enterprises ) a medical intervention environment for the development of minimally invasive cancer treatments is developed at the Mannheim university hospital. During this development process, therapeutic procedures in the fields of radiology, nuclear medicine and radiotherapy are to be improved and supplemented by modernised imaging methods, patient-specific radio-pharmaceuticals, robot-based intervention assistants and many more personalised therapeutic procedures. This variety of innovations, coupled with new examination and treatment methods and patient-specific therapies involves changing the processes both inside and outside the operating room. Part of the research project also involves optimising these transformed processes through a process management system. The development of this "intervention environment of the future" is the specific aim of the "M²OLIE" Forschungscampus.

"The research campus is another tool that enhances the new forms of cooperation prevalent in high-tech strategy - such as innovation alliances and leading-edge clusters. Similar to these, the Research Campus combines significant resources drawn from science and industry for research and innovation. Due to the jointly operated research location, they are, however, in comparison characterised by being in close proximity in a single location, commitment over long periods of time and by the special focus on application-oriented basic research." Source

Current M²OLIE information brochure (german/english)

M²OLIE highlights brochure

Sponsors:

This research project is funded by the Ministry of Education and Research and headed by VDI Technologiezentrum GmbH.


Our logo and what it means

The logo of the M²OLIE Forschungscampus symbolises the desired closed-loop process of the molecular intervention and the synergy of the various fields of engineering (blue), natural sciences(green), medicine (red) and business administration/information science (orange). The stylised M² represents the five lead and cross-sectional projects and the implied molecular structure refers in turn to molecular intervention. The stylised M² is also inspired by the logo of the city of Mannheim (Mannheim² = Mannheim squared). M² is also adopted again in the naming of the research campus: Mannheim Molecular Intervention Environment: M²OLIE

Forschungscampus M²OLIE

Der Forschungscampus „Mannheim Molecular Intervention Environment (M²OLIE)“ gehört zu den aktuell neun geförderten Forschungsprojekten, die im Rahmen des Wettbewerbs „Forschungscampus – öffentlich-private Partnerschaft für Innovationen“ am 25. September 2012 durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung ausgezeichnet wurden.

Durch eine enge interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit von Medizinern, Naturwissenschaftlern, Ingenieuren, Betriebswirtschaftlern und Informatikern aus fünf akademischen (Hochschulen und nicht-universitäre Forschungseinrichtungen) und zwölf industriellen Partnern (Großunternehmen und kleine und mittlere Unternehmen) wird im Mannheimer Universitätsklinikum eine medizinische Interventionsumgebung für die Weiterentwicklung von minimal-invasiven Krebstherapien entwickelt. Im Laufe dieses Entwicklungsprozesses werden Therapieverfahren aus den Bereichen Radiologie, Nuklearmedizin und Strahlentherapie durch modernisierte Bildgebungsverfahren, patientenindividuelle Radiopharmaka, roboterbasierende Interventionsassistenten und viele weitere personalisierte Therapieverfahren verbessert und ergänzt. Diese Vielfalt an Neuerungen, an Kombination neuartiger Untersuchungs- und Behandlungsmethoden und patientenabgestimmten Therapieverfahren bringt eine Änderung der Abläufe im und außerhalb des Operationssaals mit sich. Eine Optimierung dieser veränderten Abläufe durch ein Prozessmanagement-System ist ebenfalls Bestandteil des Forschungsvorhabens. Die Entwicklung dieses „Interventionsraums der Zukunft“ ist das konkrete Ziel des Forschungscampus „M²OLIE“.

„Der Forschungscampus komplettiert als weiteres Instrument die neuen Kooperationsformen der Hightech-Strategie – wie Innovationsallianzen und Spitzencluster. Ähnlich wie diese bündelt der Forschungscampus erhebliche Ressourcen aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft für Forschung und Innovation. Aufgrund des gemeinsam betriebenen Forschungsstandortes sind sie aber im Vergleich durch die große Nähe an einem Ort, Verbindlichkeit über längere Zeiträume sowie durch den besonderen Fokus auf die anwendungsorientierte Grundlagenforschung geprägt.“ Quelle

M²OLIE Highlights Broschüre

Externe Informationen:


Unser Logo und seine Bedeutung

Das Logo des Forschungscampus M²OLIE (sprich: molie) symbolisiert den angestrebten Closed-Loop-Prozess der molekularen Intervention und das Ineinandergreifen der verschiedenen Fachrichtungen Ingenieurwissenschaften (blau), Naturwissenschaften (grün), Medizin (rot) und Betriebswirtschaftslehre (orange). Das stilisierte M² steht für die fünf Leit- und Querschnittsprojekte und verweist durch die angedeutete Molekülstruktur wiederum auf die molekulare Intervention. Das stilisierte M² lehnt außerdem an das Logo der Stadt Mannheim (Mannheim² = Mannheim im Quadrat) an. M² wird ebenfalls in der Namensgebung des Forschungscampus wieder aufgegriffen: Mannheim Molecular Intervention Environment: M²OLIE