The new high-tech strategy of the German federal government is aimed at propelling Germany forward on the way to becoming the global innovation leader. A key to this is the close cooperation between universities, non-university research institutions and companies. With the funding initiative "Forschungscampus - Public-Private Partnership for Innovation", the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) supports the realisation of a new tool for cooperation in research and innovation in Germany.

The funding initiative is aimed at medium to long-term, sustainable cooperation between partners which can continue to exist independently even after the funding ceases. A prerequisite for the funding is the introduction of personal contributions from the partners involved in the form of personnel, infrastructure or financial resources. These contributions support the sustainable securing of the overall financing of a research campus. In addition, the BMBF supports the implementation of specific projects at research campuses in application-oriented basic research. For this purpose, a limit of up to two million euros per year over a period of up to 15 years applies to each research campus.

At least one university works together with non-university research institutions and commercial enterprises in each of the nine research campuses organised as partnerships. They work together on areas of research that are characterised by great complexity, a high level of risk associated with the research, or special potential for leaps in innovation. The thematic spectrum ranges from mobility and energy supply to production technologies to common diseases. At the same time the research campuses pursue complementary goals such as the training of young scientists in specific graduate schools or the training of staff at the companies involved. Some research campuses collaborate further in international research networks or standardisation bodies.

Sources:
Forschungscampus Broschüre des BMBF „Forschungscampus - öffentlich-private Partnerschaft für Innovationen“
Leitfaden zur Antragstellung

Links:
Förderinitiative Forschungscampus des BMBF
Projektträger Jülich GmbH

Die neue Hightech-Strategie der Bundesregierung steht für das Ziel, Deutschland auf dem Weg zum weltweiten Innovationsführer voranzubringen. Ein Schlüssel hierfür ist die enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen Hochschulen, außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen. Mit der Förderinitiative „Forschungscampus – öffentlich-private Partnerschaft für Innovationen“ unterstützt das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) daher die Realisierung eines neuartigen Kooperationsinstruments für Forschung und Innovation in Deutschland.

Die Förderinitiative zielt auf eine mittel- bis langfristig angelegte, nachhaltige Zusammenarbeit der Partner ab, welche auch nach Ablauf der Förderung eigenständig weiterbestehen kann. Voraussetzung für die Förderung ist das Einbringen von Eigenbeiträgen der beteiligten Partner in Form von Personal, Infrastruktur oder finanziellen Ressourcen. Diese Beiträge dienen der nachhaltigen Sicherstellung der Gesamtfinanzierung eines Forschungscampus. Ergänzend unterstützt das BMBF die Durchführung konkreter Projekte der Forschungscampi in der anwendungsorientierten Grundlagenforschung. Dafür gilt für jeden Forschungscampus ein Richtwert von bis zu zwei Millionen Euro jährlich über einen Zeitraum von bis zu 15 Jahren.

In neun partnerschaftlich organisierten Forschungscampi arbeiten jeweils mindestens eine Hochschule sowie außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen und Wirtschaftsunternehmen zusammen. Sie bearbeiten gemeinsam Forschungsfelder, die von großer Komplexität, einem hohen Forschungsrisiko oder besonderen Potenzialen für Sprunginnovationen gekennzeichnet sind. Die thematische Bandbreite reicht dabei von Mobilität und Energieversorgung über Fertigungstechnologien bis hin zu Volkskrankheiten. Gleichzeitig verfolgen die Forschungscampi komplementäre Ziele wie die Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses in speziellen Graduiertenschulen oder die Weiterbildung von Personal der beteiligten Unternehmen. Einige Forschungscampi arbeiten darüber hinaus in internationalen Forschungsnetzwerken oder Normungsgremien mit.

Quellen:
Forschungscampus Broschüre des BMBF „Forschungscampus - öffentlich-private Partnerschaft für Innovationen“
Leitfaden zur Antragstellung

Links:
Förderinitiative Forschungscampus des BMBF
Projektträger Jülich GmbH